Entering into National Novel Writing Month

But first, my progress!

Well, with several papers due, mid-term tests to take and presentations to make, I had a very busy October! The idea of having time to sit down and write was a lovely, fantastical idea and I truly looked forward to it! When the free time came and I didn’t have any homework for a week I, instead, cleaned the house, painted the half bathroom, decorated a couple of mirrors (http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/564827_879121603188_2120209885_n.jpg) and then threw a Halloween party.

Shame on you, Tabby! :(

I know, I know! When I did have free time (outside of the chores I gave myself) I had excuses for why I didn’t want to write that day. The list would be long! It might make you laugh, but then you’d get tired of reading my sad, sorry excuses and want to slap me through my monitor. I don’t blame you…

Here’s what I do now:
It’s after mid-term break and I have a clean slate. No projects currently and no makeup homework to do. Also my quad class is over with. So I’ve already been good about getting a little bit of my obligations done every day so that I have more time in the evening to dedicate to writing. I’m really clearing my schedule to make way for NaNoWriMo starting in 23 hours and 26 minutes from now (12:33am, but not that I’m counting down or anything!). I am hoping to tackle not only my NaNo novel but also the task of finishing this current novel! I haven’t attempted more than one creative writing project during NaNoWriMo ever, but if I lessen my distractions I should have the available time to do so!

I know this plan comes with the possible consequence of not being able to equally share my brain and muse between the two. I’m hoping one novel won’t suffer because of the other but if that happens then I’ll need to pause my current novel until December. Finishing my novel after November wasn’t my ideal plan but then again I didn’t realize having extra classes (one being a foreign language class) would murder my brain so hard!

Motivation to do what I need to do:

I was recently linked to this post: http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2011/10/04/25-things-you-should-know-about-nanowrimo/. In a nut shell it’s a kick-in-the-pants motivation for writers to do what they do best: write! Also, the post highlights the reasons behind NaNoWriMo’s method of madness, but for the sake of overloading my own post I’ll let you read it on your own. One of the sections says (like a drill Sargent) that excuses are never okay! You need discipline! *Please excuse pending vulgar language* My favorite line (which I fully intend to plaster on my laptop somewhere) is “Life is hard and weepy-pissy-sadfaced-panda-noises? Fuck you and write.” Ha-ha! Yes, it made me laugh but then it was also a blow to my gut. How many excuses have I given myself since September, when I last wrote something of substance? Life is hard and it does get in the way sometimes but, dammit, sometimes you need to get out of your own way too and do what you need to do! I need to keep this in mind when I can’t wrap my head around sitting down to write, like it’s a chore. On that thought, another quote I love from the said post is that writing shouldn’t be a punishment *language* “It should be fucking liberating!” Yes it should! Why am I not excited to write? I’m usually dancing on my toes when I’m nearing the end of a novel! Damn you Tabby! Get your beep together, woman!

So NaNoWriMo is here and you’re not done *sigh*

Yes, true story. I won’t lie, I failed myself in my goal to wrap up the novel before National Novel Writing Month 2012. However, I did add over 100,000 words over the summer and have developed so many new ideas, details, twists and characteristics for its sequel! I have something new to look forward to and that makes me very happy. I’m at a wall. Not a frighteningly massive wall but one that requires some arm work to get over. I just didn’t exercise my strength enough to get over it. I will complete this novel still. Making room for NaNo is what’s important right now though. Who knows, maybe the silver lining is that NaNo will free me of my own inhibitions and I’ll finally allow myself to get over that little wall guilt-free! (Free of worrying that my characters are too dull or not reacting properly. Man, that’s what editing is for!)

Will you finally talk about NaNo!?

Yes! :) National Novel Writing Month 2012 is upon us folks! I am super (tired) excited! I wanted to get a last post in about my current ride before November though. I am looking forward to starting a brand new novel, going to write-ins, laughing and brainstorming with friends, and getting to know my new friends/fellow Wrimos! I suppose I don’t have much more to say than that! Although school kicked my behind and zapped my brain’s urge to write I know NaNo is what I need to jump start me again.

If you’re interested in what I’m writing this year, please feel free to be my stalker and go to my NaNo profile! I’ll make the creeping easy for you too. Link: http://nanowrimo.org/en/participants/megapaopu/novels. My novel is titled Dirge of Tomorrow and it’s zombie apocalypse time! (Oh yeah, baby!) If you want to read the slush from 2011’s novel you can, it’s listed on that page too. I’m warning you, it’s bad. :) Bad, but I still love it.

See you in November!

 

Categories: Career choice, Life goal, My dream, Publication, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Entering into National Novel Writing Month

  1. ARGH! I had a comment and when I went to post I couldn’t remember the account password. UGH! Anyways – YAY for you getting excited for Nano. You know I’ll be here to support and push you. Very good advice from that link, where sometimes you just need to push and not make excuses. It’s what I do for my own work, so I know it works. <3

  2. Pingback: *Women Who Write – A little NaNO Inspiration « bridgesburning

Leave a Reply!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers