The first post is always the hardest right?

Standard

I had actually been putting off writing my first post because I knew that it was going to be pretty loaded. Sometimes I go off on tangents and don’t know when to reel myself back in. I will try to keep myself simple and structured with this information because heaven only knows what the rest of my posts will look like! Heh…

Who
Who am I? Well, I do have an “about the blogger” page but here’s another briefing. My name is Tabby and it’s always been a dream of mine to be a writer. Recently I decided that, given a very rare opportunity, I would someday love to become a published author. That someday is coming closer and closer, if I keep waiting then I will let it pass me by and I can’t let that happen. I’m not a “starving artist” or involved in any sort of exaggerated lifestyle like that. I am back in school completing my BA in English (double minor in Japanese and writing). I’m married and we have three amazing kitty-cats!

What
This, I think, is the most important piece of information for you!

This blog is NOT:

  • A “how to” on becoming a published author. I don’t feel right giving such advice right now
  • A grammar/literacy lesson! 
  • A step-by-step set of instructions on creative writing improvement. Though if you find anything I post to be useful then I’ll be excited, please let me know!
  • A place for me to brag or stroke my own ego if I actually become noticed or make accomplishments. I will never flaunt success or arrogance! That’s not me.
  • A thread for rude comments such as: “You’ll never make it!” or “I don’t see why you have to make a blog about this because…”. Please keep those comments to yourself, I don’t have time for demeaning comments.
  • A blog that I post my writing on. I do not post my writing anywhere public. Putting up an excerpt on my National Novel Writing Month profile is difficult enough! And don’t even ask me about how much I sweated during my writing workshop class! Reading my work out loud to several people and then waiting for feedback was a truly traumatizing (but oh-so rewarding) experience!

This blog IS:

  • My impending and, most likely, unbearable struggle in attempt to become published.
  • A place for me! This is my domain, with my honest thoughts, emotions and hard work, but I am sharing all of this with the public because maybe y’all can keep me on track! *nudge nudge*
  • A sort of diary. I won’t be posting about “Oh, Jenny said this to Bobby, then Bobby said this to-” see how that can get tiresome? Although you may get some snippets of my life in my posts. I’m actually kind of interesting! (At least I’ll pretend for your sake.)
  • A journey for you too! If you so choose. This is public. I’m putting myself out there for all to see. So if you find yourself coming back to my blog, please tell me why, and I won’t object to a few helpful tips and tricks of the trade either!

When
My blogging begins as soon as this post is published. The “story” begins on August 1st, the start of Camp National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)! Everything I post about will be current happenings in my life, though I may touch on past experiences because…well why the hell not?

Where
I  live in Grand Rapids, MI. and here I attend Aquinas College, where I intend to finish up school for good! (I hope.) Where is the publication happening? I’ll have to get to the final editing stages first before I figure that out. Or is there a better method? Hmm…

Why
Being unemployed sucks! I want to make the most of it though.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because if I know me, I will need some pushing…shoving, rather. I wanted to start this blog as a motivator to actually do what I have planned! If I tell myself that I need to make a post about my progress then I should probably have some progress worth discussing. If my lovely commenters push me along too, then that’s just a huge bonus!

Why do I want to be published? To me, there’s something about being supported by a publisher that just feels right. I’m not dismissing the option of self-publishing and I will definitely be comparing the pros and cons of both come that time.

How
This blog will only continue to grow if I do too. How I plan to improve myself is by putting myself “out there” like this and by just sitting down and doing it!

My plan:

  1. Take two semesters’ worth of time off of work. Having been permanently laid off at the end of July, that decision was made for me. I’m choosing to use it as a huge opportunity.
  2. Add another 50,000 words to my work in progress this August during Camp NaNoWriMo.
  3. If that additional 50,000 words didn’t finish the novel, then finish the novel by the end of October.
  4. Participate in November’s (the official) National Novel Writing Month! I’ll take a break from my work in progress to have fun with something new.
  5. Prep myself for exams.
  6. Take a breather over winter break and begin editing no later than January 2nd.
  7. Take the plunge after editing. I’m sure there will be several steps for editing/review but I will get to that list when that time comes.

Are you still reading?
Thank you! You’re awesome, give yourself a round of applause! I love you for sticking with me this far into my first post. I hope this experience is exciting and filled with learning! I also hope for some hardships…I know I’ll hate myself for saying this now but if we don’t overcome our complications then how will we know our strengths and come to appreciate our successes even more? The beginning will be easy I’m sure. Drafts are usually the fun part, it’s a free-for-all! No limits. Plot holes? What are those? Those will be edited out/filled in later… You see where I’m going with this.

What the heck is National Novel Writing Month?
I will gladly give a briefing about National Novel Writing Month, also known as NaNoWriMo! In another post. For now, please accept this short explanation: NaNoWriMo is a month long challenge every November. The challenge is to write (from scratch) a novel that is 50,000 words or more. Please visit www.nanowrimo.org if you are curious!

Disclaimer
*I am not in the market for editors. If you ask to edit my novel, I will respectfully decline. I have a plan of action already for editing and I mean to offend no one and I mean no harm to your editing skills!

14 thoughts on “The first post is always the hardest right?

    • Thank you! I hope it sets me apart in the future. 🙂 Sorry for not replying before, for some reason your comment went to spam and I’m still getting used to Word Press.

  1. Well it’s nice that you have everything figured out! Drawing up a plan (and sticking to it) would get a lot done for you. Good luck during Camp NaNo!

    Oh, and congrats on the new blog. =D

  2. Yes, the first post is the hardest. Found it interesting though. Good luck with your writing journey. Did you know the Grand Rapid Region Writers Group had published a useful (encouraging) book called the Everything Writing Guide?

Leave a Reply!

