A lovely reminder

Standard

Hey there everyone! My last post was a bit on the up-beat side and guess what! This post is also on a positive note.

I’m pretty confident I’ll be able to finish this novel within the remaining ~40k I have before the end of August! Then again, I do ramble and it shows in my writing. but NaNo is all about words so I suppose it’s all right. Although this novel needs to end soon! I think I’m nearing the 200,000 word mark, and this is just theΒ first novel. So, I have quite a bit of work ahead of me still.

My happiness in writing this novel has increased exponentially! I find myself zoning out of reality and thinking about my characters and what they’re going to do next. If I’m away from my novel, I can’t wait to get back to it and write some more. I finally feel the way I do during November’s NaNoWriMo: anticipating the next chance to get out another 500, 700 or 1,000 words! I feel like since I know I’m getting close to finishing the novel that my excitement is geared toward that finishing victory I get to have. So, my spirits are that I will not only reach 50k by the end of the month but I’ll have a finished piece of work that I can smile at and then happily take a quick break from. The difficult part (before editing of course) will be compiling everything I’ve written so far into a single document or folder at the very least. This novel has taken up maybe two years of my life so I think it goes without saying that bits of this story can be found in every corner of my documents.

I have nothing too extravagant to update you on now but I figure if I’m feeling upbeat and spectacular about where my novel is headed then I should make a note of it. Maybe I can use this post when I’m feeling down as a reminder that it is possible for me to get back into feeling excited about my novel! Or feeling excited for anything I may write or do in my life.

This is what I want to do with my life. I know I can make it! All I have to do is work through the crap (as the last post suggests) and work until I find that buzz again. I’m anxious to see what else happens in my novel while I’m on this kick! I’m glad to have worked through the hard part and I can now write because I want to, and feel good about it! Even though the first draft is poop. First drafts are generally poop though, I’ve come to accept this. πŸ™‚

I hope I can keep this momentum through the rest of the month!

4 thoughts on “A lovely reminder

Leave a Reply!

