Life after 50,000 words

Standard

I reached 50,000 words by the end of August! I finished a day early actually, my last writing session being over 6,000 words. I found August to be the toughest out of both Camp NaNo session this summer. This is mostly because I hadn’t expected to participate in the challenge during August so keeping my motivation up throughout the entire month proved to be more of a task. Also, I had finished off another 50,000 words in June so I’m thankful I had a month long break in between!

Now I’m on my own to finish up this novel! I did not finish it within the month of August as I had previously anticipated. How do I write a short novel? I don’t think it’s possible! At least I am not lost within the plot and I know the remaining bullet points by heart. September is already a hard month. Finishing out the first full week of the new month and I have only written twice. On the bright side, when I do sit down to write I find that the words come easily and I’m still happy to pay attention to my characters once again.

Classes have started up again for the fall semester. Needless to say that the courses themselves, along with homework, have taken up much of my time. So writing and blogging have to be pushed aside once in a while. I’ve also devoted some time each day to reading! Not a big deal? It is to me! I don’t read near as much as I should!

The first day of one of my English classes, during introductions, I admitted that I am an English major but my library is very small. My professor (whom I’ve had before and I do love her, so no this is not an insult to me) was pretty shocked that I have done so little reading but I’m an English major intending to be a published creative writing author. Yeah… I need to remedy that. I’ve been reading (and completely engaged and absorbed within) Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith! Please set aside your own personal comments and thoughts. 🙂 I absolutely love this book! I don’t remember the last time I’ve read something to compelling! Something about the way he writes just traps me within the pages and the next thing I know two hours have slipped by! If I’ve mentioned this before then sorry (I’m not sorry), but this is a writing style I’d love to adopt. I can’t say for sure there’s anything formulaic about it, but I don’t get tripped up by bad grammar, he doesn’t use repetitive phrases and the story moves along quickly. I plan on reading more of his work once I’m done reading this one.

In order to become a better writer I need to read more. Finding the right balance between reading and writing my own story hasn’t been too difficult these days. But I know as November nears (NaNoWriMo, exams, and more homework) I know finding spare time for all of the things I want to accomplish will get harder. Also since there are other books and resources I need to get myself involved with. I’ve yet to have a vampire movie marathon (call it research for my own novel), I have a book The Everything About Vampires book to read (which I’ve read before but need a refresher on), and also a sort of “writer’s guide” book to get familiar with: The Bookshelf Muse.

My goal is to finish this novel before November’s NaNoWriMo. My original goal was by the end of September, which is what I am still striving for, but I won’t punish myself if that doesn’t happen. My reasoning for wanting to finish by the end of September is so that I have a month to focus on the other things listed above and to outline my new novel for National Novel Writing Month.

Why don’t I just use NaNoWriMo to finish this current novel? Because that’s cheating. 🙂 The point of NaNo is to start a brand new novel on the 1st and write 50k words of that new novel by the 30th.  I could be a rebel but I used these summer months of NaNo to be a rebel. I can’t betray the challenge in November, it’s what got me back into writing in the first place! Silly? Oh well!

I also am very much looking forward to starting something new. Even if this novel to come out of November remains unfinished for a year I’m okay with that. It will be a refreshing break and hopefully that absence will make me welcome this current novel when I get back to it to either finish, or edit it.

Leave a Reply!

