Poetry: I’m starting to get it now

Standard

It’s been at least ten years since I’ve written a poem. I used to love writing poetry! Then suddenly, I didn’t.

I began to hate it after high school. Understandably, who still loves all of the same things they did at 17 or 18 years old? Well, as a person with a burning passion for writing (cliché I know… sue me!) I always wondered why I just up and hated poetry. I couldn’t stand it anymore!

Writing vs. reading poetry (in my opinion)
When I was writing it, I wasn’t required to read it. Actually, I don’t recall indulging in reading other author’s poems. I only wrote. I wrote and wrote and wrote.

When I was required to read it (college), I just loathed every minute. Uuuuggghhh, soooo boooooring, I always thought. I just don’t GET IT.

I’m starting to “get it” now
It’s said that poetry is a form of nonfiction writing since most (or all?) poets tap into themselves and their life to create their poetry. So I was reading a bit of someone else’s life, and maybe it didn’t match my own life so I just didn’t get it. I’m understanding that common reason why people say they’re just not into poetry. They don’t get it.

I’m not saying this is a bad or limited thing to think or say. I don’t get many things: WWE, fishing, and hunting are good examples of human interests that I just let soar on over my head without regret.

I used to love poetry so much because it was all me. When I included reading other poems into the mix, I got frustrated because I thought I was doing so well, but then there was all of this other poetry out there that just made my brain hurt with ignorance. Therefore, I wasn’t good at it anymore. So I stopped.

So far I’m just two brand new poems into my poetry workshop class and already so much of myself opening up! I’m excited to see what I can create and then apply it to my fiction.

I may just start to love (writing) poetry again.

2 thoughts on “Poetry: I’m starting to get it now

  1. It makes me happy to see you rediscover another passion of yours. Poetry is something that I also don’t get – but maybe that is because I found it difficult before to understand someone else’s life? Perhaps I too should try again. 🙂

Leave a Reply!

