Long Time, No Update

Standard

Well, here I am! It has been a pretty rough few months. In as brief detail as possible, I will tell you.

Physical Ailments
Knee pain is familiar to me, as is physical therapy. I went through two rounds of physical therapy for my knees (weak muscles around my knee caps).

I am due back for another round in two weeks, but this time it’s for lower back pain. I am not entirely sure where this pain has come from but I have a few speculations, all revolve around my method of exercise. Anyway, lower back pain sucks. I’ve been irritated randomly and just overall moody. Not too good for trying to post feel-good blog posts (and videos for my channel, for that matter).

School
School is school, and will always be school. I’m busy but this semester I enjoy the classes more and have a smaller workload. I am taking a Gothic literature class and it is awesome! I’m very excited to get to the unit when we read the vampire novels on our text list.

Last semester, however, is an entirely different story. I was bogged down by so much work, but then again I was finishing up my two minors. Oye. It’s done though.

National Novel Writing Month 2013
One of my favorite nano-novels thus far, but I hardly enjoyed writing it! With the aforementioned school bit, my momentum and motivation for writing and getting to the daily word count was almost fizzled to nothing by the time school and homework was finished for the day. I stayed behind in my word count almost consistently, and trying to encourage my newbies was almost impossible because I could hardly encourage myself.

But I did it.

2013-Winner-Facebook-ProfileI crossed that 50k finish line on November 30th (at the final Saturday morning write-in, in where the winners were rewarded with Starbucks!)

The Tragic Princess
This is my nano-novel for 2013 and I absolutely love it! When rereading some sections I can see my progress as a writer over the years, and since last year even. My characters sound less and less like one another, and they have believable problems that force the story forward. My writing style and ways of showing v. telling have improved immensely! I am incredibly proud of myself for pushing through NaNoWriMo and writing this novel, because I know my efforts are paying off.

The Sampler
In one of my last posts I mentioned that I was going write and prepare pieces to submit to my school’s annual creative/art publication, The Sampler. Every year Aquinas College accepts what they view to be talented works of art and creative writing. I did submit! This is unusual for me since I tend to be the type of person who gets excited, says I’ll do it, but then doesn’t when the deadline comes… But I submitted two poems and a short piece of fiction. Accepted pieces should be announced before spring break (which is the second week of March for me.) I’ll keep ya posted!

Leave a Reply!

